Electronic Health Record Sharing System Won the Hong Kong ICT Award 2017

Electronic Health Record Sharing System Won the Hong Kong ICT Award 2017

The Electronic Health Record Sharing System (eHRSS) developed and operated by the Food and Health Bureau (FHB) of the HKSAR Government and the Hospital Authority (HA) won the Best Business Solution (Application) Award (Gold Award) in the Hong Kong Information, Communications and Technology (ICT) Awards 2017. The Best Business Solution (Application) Award honours and promotes examples of successful and effective applications of ICT, and commends organisations that have successfully incorporated IT into existing business operations. The award was presented to FHB and HA at the Hong Kong Club Building on 31 March 2017.

The territory-wide eHRSS was launched in March 2016 to provide a new information infrastructure for multi-way sharing of patients’ electronic health data by participating public and private healthcare providers in Hong Kong. With patients’ consent, healthcare professionals of authorised participating healthcare organisations can access patients’ electronic health data for healthcare purposes. eHRSS has brought in new ways in the provision of healthcare services through information sharing and collaboration between the public and private sectors.

“We are honoured to have this prestigious award and grateful for the recognition we have received,” said Ms Ida LEE, Head (Electronic Health Record), Electronic Health Record Office of FHB. “The introduction of eHRSS enhances continuity of care as well as facilitates better integration of different healthcare services for the benefits of people in Hong Kong. It also provides the infrastructure to support the healthcare reform and the development of new healthcare service models such as public‐private partnership. eHRSS promulgates open standards and uses structured data for sharing, thus enabling healthcare professionals to make better clinical judgement and facilitate the development of ICT solutions for the health sector.”

Since its launch, eHRSS has received favourable response from the community and the healthcare sector. As at end-March 2017, over 430 000 patients and 1 200 healthcare organisations have already registered with the system. The Finance Committee of the Legislative Council has also recently approved a funding commitment of $422 million for the Government to take forward Stage 2 development of eHRSS with the aim to further enhance the functionalities of system and increase adoption in the private health sector.

Head (Electronic Health Record), Ms Ida Lee (centre) and Consultant (eHealth), Dr Cheung Ngai-tseung (right) receive the award on behalf of FHB and HA.
Head (Electronic Health Record), Ms Ida Lee (centre) and Consultant (eHealth), Dr Cheung Ngai-tseung (right) receive the award on behalf of FHB and HA.

Group photo with winners of the award.
Group photo with winners of the award.

電子健康紀錄互通系統獲2017香港資訊及通訊科技獎

電子健康紀錄互通系統獲2017香港資訊及通訊科技獎

由香港特別行政區政府食物及衞生局(食物及衞生局)及醫院管理局(醫管局)開發及營運之電子健康紀錄互通系統(互通系統),獲得2017香港資訊及通訊科技獎中的「最佳商業方案(應用)獎 ─ 金獎」,該獎主要表揚及推廣可以成功和有效地在機構應用的資訊及通訊科技,及嘉許能成功把資訊科技融入其業務之機構。食物及衞生局和醫管局於2017年3月31日在香港會所大廈獲頒發此獎項。

全港性的互通系統於2016年3月正式啟用。互通系統提供一個全新資訊基建平台,讓已登記的公私營醫護機構互通病人的電子健康紀錄。在取得病人同意後,獲授權的醫護機構便可讓其醫護專業人員取覽病人的電子健康紀錄作醫護用途。透過資料共享及醫護機構之間的協作,互通系統帶來創新模式,為病人提供醫護服務。

食物及衞生局電子健康紀錄統籌處處長李碧茜女士說:「我們非常榮幸獲獎,並很高興得到認同。互通系統有助加強醫護服務的連貫性,促進公私營合作,為病人帶來更大裨益。系統亦提供基建平台,支援醫療改革及發展新的醫護服務模式,如公私營協作計劃。互通系統以開放標準及結構性數據為基礎,協助醫護專業人員作出更準確的醫療診斷,並促進資訊及通訊科技在醫護界的發展。」

自互通系統啟用以來,市民及醫護界均反應正面。截至2017年3月底,已有超過43萬名市民及1 200間醫護機構登記參加。立法會財務委員會最近亦已通過4.22億元的撥款,供政府作系統的第二階段發展,以進一步加強系統在支援醫護服務方面的功能及提高私營醫護界別的使用。

電子健康紀錄統籌處處長李碧茜女士(中)及電子健康紀錄統籌處顧問醫生(電子病歷)張毅翔醫生(右)代表食物及衞生局及醫管局領獎。
電子健康紀錄統籌處處長李碧茜女士(中)及電子健康紀錄統籌處顧問醫生(電子病歷)張毅翔醫生(右)代表食物及衞生局及醫管局領獎。

與得獎者大合照。
與得獎者大合照。